University of Minnesota
University of Minnesota
College of Science and Engineering > Department of Chemistry > Chemical Theory Center

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15
html slider by WOWSlider.com v7.8m

More News and Highlights

About the CTC

The Chemical Theory Center consists of faculty members and their research groups in the Department of Chemistry at the University of Minnesota who carry out a broad range of cutting-edge theoretical chemistry and computational chemistry research. Click here for a printable pdf member list.

Group Photo, 2012


Seminar Series

The Chemical Theory Center Monthly Seminar Series features the research of a postdoctoral researcher or graduate student from one of the faculty groups.

Unless otherwise specified, regular monthly seminars are in 117/119 Smith Hall, 4:00 pm - 5:00 pm.

Monthly Seminars, Spring Semester 2016:

Friday, January 8 - no seminar

Friday, February 12 - Yingjie Wang, Gao Group. "Characterizing Conformational Dynamics and Allostery of DnaJ-PKAc Chimera through Computation and NMR/SAXS Experiments." Abstract

Friday, March 11 - Konstantinos Vogiatzis, Gagliardi Group. "Multi-reference Calculations beyond the Limits of CASSCF: The Case of a Cryptand Complex with a Rare M-O-M Core." Abstract

Friday, April 8 - Shaohong Li, Truhlar Group. "Full-dimensional potential energy surfaces and couplings for thioanisole." Abstract

Friday, May 13 - cancelled

Special Seminars, 2016:

Friday, February 19, 4:00 pm - 5:00 pm (402 Walter Library) - Ben Lynch, Minnesota Supercomputing Institute (MSI), will speak on useful tools for programming. Notes

Monday, May 9, 4:00 pm - 5:00 pm (231 Smith Hall) - Benjamin G. Levine, Professor, Department of Chemistry at Michigan State University. "Conical Intersections and Non-Radiative Recombination in Semiconductor Nanocrystals." Abstract

Tuesday, May 10, 1:15 pm - 2:30 pm (402 Walter Library) - Rachel Getman, Assistant Professor, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, Clemson University. Prof. Getman is a co-PI in the Inorganometallic Catalyst Design Center (ICDC) and will present her work at the ICDC monthly webinar. CTC members are welcome to attend. Abstract to follow.

Thursday, June 9, 4:00pm - 5:00 pm (402 Walter Library). Sergey Varganov, Assistant Professor, Department of Chemistry, University of Nevada (Reno). Topic and Abstract to follow.

Past Seminars




Joint Activities | Joint Publications

Pictured left to right: J. Gao, D. Truhlar, L. Gagliardi, C. Cramer, I. Siepmann

Laura Gagliardi

Director, 2011 - 2016

The Gagliardi Group Research Site

Chris Cramer

The Cramer Group Research Site

Jiali Gao

The Gao Group Research Site

Jason Goodpaster | Starting June 2016


Ilja Siepmann

The Siepmann Group Research Site

Don Truhlar | Founding Director, 2005-2011

The Truhlar Group Research Site